Treats To Try! – Homemade Pizza Dough

May.26.2009

Sorry for the delay in this returning! Before we get to the treat, some housekeeping things. I mentioned that I would try to get a Mr. Linky up. Unfortunately, that’s before I knew you had to PAY for Mr. Linky! Sad times. So, for now, until I see how bug this gets (ie: does it warrent subscribing for Mr. Linky??) Just post here if you’re participating in Treats To Try (either by making the treat I’m trying OR posting your own T3 (Treats To Try) on your blog! I’d love it if you’d grab the button Cara made for this event and post it on your blog as well! (more people that see it, the more people that participate, I might just pay for Mr. Linky!) πŸ˜‰

If you try the treat I mention, be sure to report back with your thoughts on it!

If you’re posting your own, who knows, I may pick your treat to try next! πŸ™‚

Without further ado…. Homemade Pizza Dough (Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough) thanks to 24 Hour Menu!

1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast (or 2 1/4 tsp)
1 cup warm water
2 cups whole wheat flour
1/4 cup wheat germ
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon honey

DIRECTIONS

In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl combine flour, wheat germ and salt. Make a well in the middle and add honey and yeast mixture. Stir well to combine. Cover and place in the refrigerator for 12-24 hours. The dough will rise while the yeast is still warm.

After the dough has rested for while, roll dough on a floured pizza pan and poke a few holes in it with a fork.

Bake in 425 degree preheated oven for 5 to 7 minutes. Remove from oven and add toppings. Bake for another 10 minutes or until bubbly and golden brown!

3 Responses to “Treats To Try! – Homemade Pizza Dough”

  1. Lisha Says:

    I already make my pizza dough very similar to this. The only difference is sugar instead of honey and a little olive oil. I never thought to make that substitute. Mine is an hour rise, punch down, let rise again, then use. We love our homemade dough.

  2. Lisha Says:

    oh, yeah, I also use whole white wheat instead.


  3. […] I tried the pizza crust tonight (well, started it […]


Leave a Reply

